Studio Photography

This Tuesday as part of class, I had the oppertunity to have a play with proper studio lighting for the first time. It was strange getting use to the setup as I’ve never had total control over a lighting setup before!

(image © Gary Danton)

We had the oppertunity to use both constant lighting and flash. I got my best results with the constant lighting, mainly due to the fact that even using a lightmeter (another first) my shots were way overexposed and totally unusable. I think this had more to do with my inability to setup the camera correctly than anything else. Those shots using the studio flash also lacked depth compared to the constant lighting, which provided very atmospheric images.

Over all, I did enjoy the experience, and given time and practice i think the results would greatly improve, i think this will be one genre of photography that i’ll definatly revisit in the future.

thanks

Gary

Leave a Reply

