On My Shopping List

Hi All,

Next on my shopping list (wish list) is one of these bad boys..

Nikon 35mm F1.8(image © Nikon)

Its a Nikon 35mm f1.8 DX prime lens. Over the last few months i’ve been getting a little frustrated with my kit lenses (18-55 and 55-200). While they are both great lenses, and ideally suited to my D40 i’m finding them a bit limiting. I’d like to do some experimenting with shallow depth of field  and low light photography (like I did here) but with a max aperture of f3.8 on the 18-55 and f4 on the 55-200 there’s not a lot I can do.

The solution is to save my pennies and pick up a 35mm fast prime. This will be the first prime I’ve gone for on digital and I am looking forward to having a play around with it (when I eventually pick one up that is). I’ve used a 50mm f1.9 on my Chinon and 50mm f1.8 and 35mm f2.8 on my OM10 to great effect.

After some researching i found a cracking review over at KenRockwell.com

Thanks

Gary

One thought on “On My Shopping List

  1. Pingback: Got It! « Gary Danton's Digital Scrapbook

Leave a Reply

