Analogue in a Digital World

Hi All,

I’m in a bit of a quandary because I’ve fallen in love with my latest gadget – an Amazon Kindle. I mean don’t get me wrong.. I looooove books, and that’s the very reason I got the Kindle. I can read 4 or 5 books in a good month, and at £6 to £7 a pop that can get pretty expensive, so its a cost saving measure in the medium term.

My move to ebooks from traditional printed has got me thinking. Its been years since I purchased an physical CD or DVD – I get my music either through iTunes or (more likely) Spotify and watch most of my TV and films through iPlayer. Soooo where does analogue photography come into this?

To be honest, I really don’t know. For my part, it seems the more that I digitize my life, the more I want to shoot analogue. I like the fact that its not instant gratification, that if the shots wrong, I cant instantly retake it. I think digital as a medium for learning is brilliant, but I get my enjoyment out of analogue photography.

I’m also pondering separating my digital and analogue work flow. I like the fact that I can process my negatives and then scan them direct onto the computer, but this seems a bit like a cop out, and takes the soul out of analogue photography. I’ve access to a fully kitted darkroom at work, and I’m intending to make much more use for it. I’ll still need to scan the photos in to upload to places like facebook and flickr, but that’ll be the last stage before framing and display.

At the moment I’m doing a project on pinhole cameras and creating paper negatives. This type of photography isn’t too dissimilar to some of the original images created by William Henry Fox Talbot back in the 1830’s. It seems quite apt that as I move further into a digital world, my interest in photography has gone right back to its roots.

Thanks

Gary

Leave a Reply

